Where does the responsibility of my weight loss start and end?

Over the last few weeks I’ve begun to notice that a lot of people banded including myself, seem to have this expectation of the gastric band that once they’ve had the surgery that its all downhill thereafter.  However after having the procedure done recently, this isnt true.

What is more discouraging is that the providers seem to be the target of our frustration in that when the results on the scales Dont go our way, we immediately look for someone to blame, when in truth weight loss is solely our responsibility, isn’t it?   My band is not going to stop me buying cake, or kebabs, it may try and help me eat less of them but the healthy food choice lies solely with me. Now this has always been my problem.  Eating too much and eating the wring things have been the sole contributors to my weight gain over the years, so who’s to say that removing one (eating too much) will ensure my success?  I could eat less but what if ate junk?

This far in I can only credit my provider, the Hospital Group for doing their job, which was to put in a band and support me while I get used to it and gave advice where necessary.  They were very clear with me that if I didn’t work at losing weight then my results would be negligible and also warned me very matter of fact that if I over ate then I could risk serious complications and even death.

Would like to hear someone else’s thoughts?

One thought on “Where does the responsibility of my weight loss start and end?

  1. Very easy to cheat the band. I do think weight loss will still occur even with the smaller portions of junk. For example: a burger and fries i used to very easily eat and there is no way i could fitthat in now. But i do think you will plateau sooner if you chose to eat shit.

Leave a Reply

